Fairy Tail RP

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

• Patch Notes •                 • New User Guide •                • Guild Information •

Guild Names and Purposes

Poll

Should Dies Irae and Elysium be changed to fit the meaning of their names?

[ 1 ]
    Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_lcap17%Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_rcap [17%] 
    [ 5 ]
    Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_lcap83%Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_rcap [83%] 
    [ 0 ]
    Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_lcap0%Guild Names and Purposes I_vote_rcap [0%] 

Total Votes: 6
    Poll closed

Star Guild Names and Purposes

Post by Guest 15th March 2020, 9:46 pm

I know I'm a total newb and all that good stuff but, there was something I couldn't help noticing. The guilds Dies Irae and Elysium, two Latin terms, Dies Irae being a historical hymn that translates to the "The Day of Wrath" and Elysium being the resting place of heroic souls in Greek Mythology. Dies Irae is a legal guild despite its name being a hymn sung in mass for the dead. Elysium being a dark guild despite its name meaning the final resting place for heroic and pure souls in Greek Mythology. To me, that doesn't make sense. Why have these two guilds set up in a way that completely contradicts the guild names' meanings? Maybe it was just something whoever made those guilds thought would be fun, I don't know since I didn't make them, I just feel like, if you were going to give guilds Latin names in which the names themselves carry such historical and mythological meaning and weight, it might be better to base the guild idea and set up off the name given instead. If you find me too rambly or that my suggestion is pointless, feel free to ignore it. I know I'm a lowly newb who hasn't even fully joined the community yet so I may have no business sticking my nose up in here about this but, as someone who loves history and mythology, I wanted to give my two cents on the matter.